T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List

Year Winner Runner Up
2016 West Indies England
2014 Sri Lanka India
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka
2007 India Pakistan

With the 1st edition of ICC T20 World Cup held in 2007, so far 6 editions have been completed. The last season was held in 2016 and next T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in 2020 which will be the 7th edition. 5 different teams have emerged as winners of this T20 tournament with West Indies have won it twice. The interesting thing about T20 Cricket World Cup is that, five times Champions of ODI World Cup i.e Australia have not been able to win it yet.

T20 World Cup is held after every 2 years and as mentioned above the next edition will be held in 2020 which will be hosted by Australia.

The 1st edition which was held in 2007 was hosted by South Africa and India were emerged as the winners by defeating arch rivals Pakistan.

2nd edition of T20 World Cup was organized by England in 2009 and the runners up of 1st edition i.e Pakistan won it by defeating Sri Lanka in the Final.

In 2010 i.e in 3rd edition, England lifted the trophy by defeating Australia comfortably by 7 wickets. This 3rd edition of T20 World Cup was hosted by West Indies.

In 4th edition which was held in 2012, hosts Sri Lanka were defeated by West Indies in the Final.

The 5th edition of T20 World Cup was played in Bangladesh in 2014. In the final Sri Lanka defeated India by 6 wickets and became the Champions.

6th edition of T20 World Cup was held in India in 2016. Winners of 2010 edition, West Indies won the tournament for the 2nd time by defeating England in a nail bitting match.

Leave a Comment