Complete Information about Cricket Formats, Leagues and Tournaments

Cricket is said to originated by British in the early days of 16th century. As British East Indian Company were ruling in most part of the World during 16th century, so cricket started becoming slowly in most of the countries around World. Earlier cricket was played only by Children but during 17th century is started becoming popular among the adults also. Apart from Britain, the people of North America, West Indies and India also started playing Cricket as a source of entertainment in those days.

Click Here : T10 League 2019 Abu Dhabi

Upcoming T20, T10, Odi , Test , Cricket Series Schedule


  • India v Bangladesh”
  • Australia v Sri Lanka
  • Australia v Pakistan
  • New Zealand v England
  • Afghanistan v West Indies
  • West Indies Women v India Women
  • Pakistan Women v Bangladesh Women


  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier
  • ACC Women’s Emerging Cup
  • ACC Emerging Teams Cup


  • Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2
  • CWC Challenge League Group A
  • ICC World Test Championship
  • ICC Women’s Championship


  • Women’s Big Bash League


  • Iberia Cup, Oct 2019


  • Sheffield Shield
  • Marsh One-Day Cup
  • Big Bash League
  • Women’s National CL
  • CA Second XI


  • National Cricket League


  • Vijay Hazare Trophy
  • Ranji Trophy
  • Irani Cup
  • Duleep Trophy


  • Super Smash
  • Ford Trophy
  • Plunket Shield
  • NZ Cricket Women’s T20


  • National T20 Cup
  • Quaid-e-Azam Trophy
  • Quaid-e-Azam Second XI


  • MSL 2019
  • CSA Provincial T20 Cup
  • CSA 3-Day Provincial Cup
  • 4-Day Franchise Series
  • CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge
  • Momentum One Day Cup
  • CSA Women’s Provincial League
  • CSA Women’s Provincial T20


  • Super50 Cup


  • New Zealand tour of Australia, Dec 2019
  • West Indies tour of India, Dec 2019
  • New Zealand tour of Australia, Dec 2019
  • England tour of South Africa, Dec 2019
  • Sri Lanka tour of India, Jan 2020
  • Zimbabwe tour of India, Jan 2020
  • Australia tour of India, Jan 2020
  • India tour of New Zealand, Jan 2020
  • SA Women tour of New Zealand, Jan 2020
  • Australia tour of South Africa, Feb 2020
  • Asia XI v World XI T20I Series, Mar 2020
  • Australia Women tour of South Africa, Mar 2020
  • Australia tour of New Zealand, Mar 2020
  • West Indies tour of England, Jun 2020
  • New Zealand tour of Scotland, Jun 2020
  • Australia tour of England, Jul 2020
  • Pakistan tour of England, Jul 2020
  • New Zealand tour of West Indies, Jul 2020
  • South Africa tour of West Indies, Jul 2020
  • Ireland tour of England, Sep 2020


  • Australia Women’s TRI Series, Jan 2020
  • ICC Under-19 World Cup 2020, Jan 2020
  • ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, Feb 2020
  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Oct 2020

USA vs British Empire’s Canadian Province was the 1st official and international match played between 24 and 26 September 1844 at the St George’s Cricket Club, Bloomingdale Park in New York.

There are three main Formats of Cricket: Test Cricket, ODI Cricket and T20 Cricket.

There are currently 12 major countries which play International Cricket and these teams also have the Test Status given by the ICC (International Cricket Council).

India, England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Ireland, Afghanistan.

T20 Cricket

T20 is the latest and shortest version of Cricket which started just one and half decade ago. The first T20 match was played between England’s counties Middlesex and Surrey on 15th July 2004. As its pretty much clear from the name, in T20 Cricket each team has to play 20 overs. Thats the reason why a T20 matches ends in just about 3 hours. In no times, T20 Cricket became popular everywhere in the World.

Due to big stroke hitting and less time span, T20 Cricket is now days one of the most popular form of Cricket among Cricket fans.

Major T20 Cricket tournaments are IPL, T20 World Cup, Big Bash League(BBL), Bangladesh Premier League and more. IPL is turning out to be a big craze among Cricket lovers. So far 11 seasons of IPL have been completed and 12th season of IPL is going to start from 23 March 2019.

Check here >> IPL 2019 Schedule

Now a days, in each tournament which is played between two teams, some T20 matches are also played along with Test and ODI matches.

One Day Cricket (ODI)

ODI Cricket is also known as limited over Cricket or 50-50 match as each team has to play for 50 overs in an ODI match. In ODI Cricket each bowler can bowl only 10 overs.

ODI Cricket started during 20th Century. The First ODI match was played between Australia and England on 5th January 1971 at Melbourne. In early days, player used to wear white uniform in the ODI matches and 60 overs were delivered, but as the game evolved, each Cricket playing Countries have their own Colorful uniforms with Countries Flags etc.

These days there are 50 overs in One day International matches and White ball is used. There many types of ODI tournament like Bilateral series, Tri-angular series, Asia Cup and the most popular and biggest is ICC World Cup.

Test Cricket

Test Cricket is the oldest and longest format of Cricket. England and Australia faced each other on 15th March 1877 at Melbourne Stadium, Australia in the 1st ever Official Test match.

Test Cricket is played with red ball and most of tests are played during day time. A Test match runs for 5 days. There are 4 innings in a test match and each team plays 2 innings. Usually 90 overs are delivered every day unless weather conditions are normal. In Test matches there are no restrictions of bowling limited overs for any bowler. That means any bowler can bowl unlimited number of overs.

Although the official duration of a Test match is 5 days, but it may end before depending upon how the two teams play. For example suppose a team bats first and make 600 runs and then declare the innings. If 2nd team is not able to make at least 400 runs ( 200 less runs), then 1st team may impose Follow on 2nd team. 2nd team
bats again and still not able to make total in 600 runs in both innings, then 1st team won the match.

Major Cricket Tournaments:

T20 Tournaments:

Although T20 is the newest version of Cricket, but its on top in terms of popularity than other two Formats of Cricket. Some major T20 tournaments are:

IPL (Indian Premier League)
ICC T20 World Cup
Big Bash League(BBL)
Bangladesh Premier League(BPL)
Caribbean Premier League (CPL)
Ram Slam
Pakistan Super League (PSL)

Test Tournaments:

Test Cricket is usually played between Two countries, so there are only Bilateral tournaments in Tests.
Some popular Test Tournaments are:

The Ashes
Border-Gavaskar Trophy
Chappell–Hadlee Trophy

ODI Tournaments:

Popular ODI Cricket Tournaments are:

ICC World Cup
ICC Champions Trophy
Asia Cup
NatWest Series