Sri Lanka Team ICC World Cup 2019 Squad, Schedule and Fixtures

Winners of 1996, Sri Lanka have announced their 15 member squad for ICC World Cup 2019 just one day after making the surprise decision to appoint Dimuth Karunaratne as the Captain. 

With this squad announcement it became clear that, Dimuth Karunaratne who has not featured in any ODI sinced 2015 World Cup will be leading the Sri Lankan side in World Cup 2019. 

Lahiru Thirimanne and Avishka Fernando are expected to open the innings for Sri Lanka in World Cup and will be required to give a solid stand as the openers.

Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis will the core of Sri Lanka batting in this World Cup. Newly appointed Dimuth Karunaratne who is out of ODI cricket for a long time, has not only to prove with the captaincy but also need to give reasonable contribution with the bat.

All rounders Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera are the two players whom Sri Lanka would want to deliver most with both bat and ball.

Sri Lanka pace bowling department comprises of bowlers like Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep. Jeffrey Vandersay will board the plane to England as the specialist spinner in Sri Lankan team. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeevan Mendis will do the work for part time spinners.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team World Cup Squad 2019

BatsmanAll RounderWicket KeeperBowler
Dimuth Karunaratne (c)Angelo MathewsKusal PereraLasith Malinga
Avishka FernandoThisara PereraKusal MendisSuranga Lakmal
Lahiru ThirimanneDhananjaya de Silva 
Jeffrey Vandersay
 Alex HalesJeevan Mendis Nuwan Pradeep
 Milinda Siriwardana  
 Isuru Udana